Visegrad – a place of the hills and water.

Hello, everyone!

Some of you may know it, some of you not, but when you are in an EVS project for more than 6 months you are able to participate in so-called mid-term training. Volunteers from Hungary that started the project in more or less the same time gather together with trainers to see where we are after half a year, where our project has taken us and what is going to happen after our project will finish.

My mid-term training was held in a small town by the Duna river called Visegrad. I am not going to lie, getting there was quite a challenge since the town is very small and some kilometres away from our Nyiregyhaza. Nonetheless, the alarm was set for 4am and with train tickets in my hand, I began the journey to, what I would discover later most beautiful escape.

Having less than 2,000 habitats is a perfect place for escaping the noise of the metropolis. The town is stretched like a river, turning with it on every step with trees covering the hills and mountains on both sides of the river.

There are many places to just sit in quiet and admire how the current is making the grass dance on the shore, or moving the branches that fell, swimming to the unknown of the next turn.

On the top of one hill, there is a castle overlooking the city. If you have a chance to be in the castle just before the sunset I highly recommend taking that opportunity. The views will reward you greatly with the sun setting on the other side of the river behind the forested hills and the yellow and orange tint that it will give to the river.

I always said that I thrive in the noise and scale of the big city. And I truly do. I don’t think that I would be able to move to the place like this for a long run, but visiting it, and breathing in nature is sometimes equally needed to step back and acquire a new perspective on things.

Needless to say, I am very glad that I had a chance to visit Visegrad, even if it was just for a short while.

Magdalena

One thought on “Visegrad – a place of the hills and water.

Leave a comment